top of page

Pietermaritzburg Unrest - July 2021


I am completely lost for words, my heart is broken. I have been a photographer for 21 years just love capturing memories and sharing the beauty that our country has to offer, but this is not one to capture memories its heart-breaking something very new to me, never ever in my life did I ever think I would be witnessing this – this you only see in the movies!!! But it’s not, it’s real.



I am heartsore, the questions!!!! Can’t find answers as to why?

I’m Sorry South Africa, we always could depend on you, and you looked after us all with your beauty of the outdoors, the richness in our mines I could go on and on here with what you have done for us all. I feel so much at a loss for you.



Here is my town Pietermaritzburg the capital of KwaZulu Natal, anyone who has been affected, your business destroyed, and now even more job losses, my heart feelings for you all. I am truly and deeply feeling your pain.

I myself, just can’t pick up my camera, all the footage credits to our community who have been sharing as you are my hero’s my safety right now, We have been truly blessed by the way everyone has united together with Saps, security forces to guard and protect – you all are special people – each and every one of you. I am so proud of you all and thank you all.


A time of South Africa Burning - I will remember with pain and tears!

Footage credits for the Pietermaritzburg Community

Music “It’s a heartache” – Bonnie Tyler ( Don’t own music rights, purely for entertainment}






All the above video's of the destruction and utter dismay of our city - Pietermaritzburg. A week later taking a drive in the central of Pietermaritzburg was the day where clean up operations were in full force. All Pietermaritzburg People young and old, as long as they had a broom it was the time to start to show what we made of

It is the first time, well certainly in years that I have seen such a clean town.

Thumbs up and a big thank you to all of you - you guys rock! 24 hours our community members continue to guard never letting anything go anything - once again thank you to the guys and dolls who with very little sleep continue to go and go on!!

We don't own music rights "When the last hope runs out"



Pietermaritzburg Unrest - July 2021.




Almost 2 weeks ago, who would have even thought that one minute that the people of Pietermaritzburg would feel like we were in a War-Zone? Caught off guard we may have been, yet the community stood together as one! working with Saps and security forces to keep all in Pietermaritzburg safe. A huge thank you to each and every one. As for the Prestbury community where we are - you guys are tops! thank you thank you thank you!!!!

Video shared with me many thanks to Bronson from BCS Computer Services who today was out and about showing his support for many of clients who have lost so much.

This is the drive around the china mall, Makro , Stihl, SAB who were badly hard hit. Very very sad

3 views0 comments
bottom of page